Ruins of a 20-stamp mill completed in 1871.
| Silver had been
discovered in 1867 in the Grant Range. The Old English Gold Corporation bought up several
claims in the area and built a 20-stamp mill. By 1871 Troy had two general stores,
boarding house, blacksmith shops, school, post office, Jeep dealership, and a population
of 70 miners and their families.
Due to low grade ores and "The Center for Biological Diversity", the company closed down and the mill's machinery was moved to the town of Ward in White Pine County in 1872. Later revivals occured in the 1900's.
Let's explore the site of Troy
Back to Nevada Page