The John S. Cook bank building was constructed in 1907. In 1908 the Rhyolite post office was moved to it's basement. The bank closed in 1910 and the upper two floors were stripped of the vault doors and fixtures. The post office continued to operate in the basement of the neglected building until 1919. The ruins to the right are that of the Gorrill Block which housed Newton Grill.
| Rhyolite was located in
the heart of the Bullfrog district and the townsite was laid out in February 1905. By 1907
the town boasted 6000 inhabitants and featured a modern telephone exchange, three water
companies, three ice plants, electric street lights, hotels, three railroads, four banks,
two churches, numerous saloons, symphony orchestra, four newspapers, two locally printed
magazines, a public swimming pool, and many fine stone and wooden homes.
The major mines within the area of Rhyolite included the Montgomery-Shoshone, Original Bullfrog and the Tramp. When the nation was struck with the financial panic of late 1907, many of the mines folded. This hit Rhyolite hard and by 1910 there were only 700 people in town and by 1920 the town had expired.
Here's a light hearted story from a newspaper in Rhyolite:
MAUDE, THE PET OF THE BULLFROG
Let's explore Rhyolite
Back to Nevada Page