That Time Forgot, Nevada
Mormons discovered (multiple wives) silver in this area in 1870 and
by 1871 a camp was established here. The mining district was organized in
1876 and by 1878 a smelter was running and a 12-stamp mill was built.
By 1882 the town had 5 stores, 8 saloons, 2 hotels, 3 stables, 2
barbershops, a butcher, blacksmith, post office, and a newspaper
publishing office. The town had a population of around 700 miners.
The mine shown here was discovered in 1877 and in 1911 all of the
nearby mines were consolidated by a mining company. In 1913 a 9000 foot
aerial tramway that was constructed. The mines here have been worked on
and off over the years and were abandoned in the early 60's.
Presently a caretaker resides over these grounds and permission
must be obtained before exploring these grounds
explore The Mine That Time Forgot
Back to Nevada Page