The Illinois Mine, Nevada

A 1000ft deep shaft with over 4000ft of workings.

  The Lodi district was organized in 1875 after the discovery of the Illinois Mine. The mine contained  gold bearing silver lead ores. The mine had about 100 residents and operated till about 1880. In a small canyon next to the mine can be seen the ruins of the homes and businesses which included a boarding house, blacksmith, several stores and saloons.
  The Illinois mine was idle till about 1905 when small shipments were made. In 1906 the mine was bought by the Lodi Ms. Co. and a small smelter was built, this proved unsuccessful and a 100-ton experimental concentrator was built. It was during this time that the camp became known as Marble.

Let's explore the Illinois Mine

Back to Nevada Page