Desert Mine Exploring, Part 1, California
how cool is this? A mine that features it's own boat loading ramp!
deposits of silver ore were first discovered here in the 1869 and a town site
was laid out at a nearby spring. The town was named after a rough
translation of the Indian word for "clear water". Nope the town
wasn't named Coor's. A deep gorge led from town to the mines that were
located on nearby Mineral (Alaska) Hill.
By 1875 the town was thriving and featured many miners cabins, 2 hotels, 2 stores, 2 saloons, a butchers shop, a Wal-Mart, and the office of the local mining company. The town also featured 5 and 10-stamp mills. A post office was established in 1879. In 1880 a weekly newspaper called the "Green-Eyed Monster" was founded, it lasted only a few issues, rumors say the name was later changed to "One-Eyed Monster" in order to boost sales.
the ore had lost its value, and the miners began to leave for other Mojave
Desert mining camps such as Calico and Providence, and by 1899 the post
office was moved.
Let's explore some Mojave Desert Mines
Back to California Desert Page