| The Masonic District was first founded by
miners in 1860, but because of the excitement over in Aurora and Bodie, operations were
sporadic and on a small scale until about 1902 when the Pittsburg-Liberty Mine opened. By
1907 a 10-stamp mill and cyanide plant were in operation. Activity in Masonic started to
slacken off around 1911.
The town of Masonic consisted of three settlements in Masonic Gulch; Upper Town, Middle Town, and Lower Town, each about half a mile apart.
On Nov. 8, 1905, the first issue of the short lived "Masonic Pioneer" newspaper was printed, quite a crowd gathered to tap a keg of beer, and the cry went out; "KEG'ER PARTY IN MASONIC!"
Masonic is a great place to go mountain biking and has a excellent camping spot in the aspen trees located there.
Let's Explore Masonic
Back to California Eastern Sierra Page