Gold was discovered at these diggings in 1850. The site was originally known as Eureka City, but the name of the post office was changed to Eureka North in order to avoid confusion with all of the other "Eureka's" in the state. The post office operated from 1857 to 1861.
By 1879, hydraulic mining and drift mining were going strong and eventually the entire main part of town was washed away by hydraulic monitors.
Water was supplied to the hydraulic mines of Eureka North by Kimball Ditch which took water from Bunker Hill. The ditch was over 6 miles long and was built in 1869 at a cost of $40,000. In May of 1853 H. Kimball and assocaties claimed the water from Saddleback Creek above the trail from Oak Ranch to the upper crossing of Kenyon Canyon Creek for use at the mines.
Let's explore Eureka City
Back to California Western Sierra Page