Ah-Ooo-Gah Mine, Death Valley, California
This mine was first discovered in 1888 and was named after a island that Commodore Perry used in the fight against the British during the War of 1812. In the 1920's John the miner leased and later purchased the mine and reanamed it the Ah-Ooo-Gah Mine. The mine consists of four claims and was a substantial source of lead during WWII.
John was a educated miner, having graduated from the University of Maine. In 1903 he came to the Mojave Desert by way of the railroad where he took a horse drawn stage to Lone Pine. He worked at mines in the White and Coso Mountains, ended up in Darwin, then Ballarat and Death Valley.
Early mining operations produced ore that assayed at around 30% lead
and 20 ounces of silver per ton.
John had another home away from the mine where he and his wife Mary homesteaded 160 acres and spent the summer months in Death Valley. Mary was Death Valley's first school teacher. The property was sold to Death Valley National Monument in 1955, and is now a campground that bears his name;... "John".
Let's Explore the Ah-Ooo-Gah Lead Mine,
Our hike on the old miners trail starts at the ruins of a miners cabin that dates from 1888.
Heading up the trail.
A lot of work went into these old miners trails.
Zig-Zag trail we have to go up.
Damn! the trail goes higher than we thought.
Looking down on the valley below.
Looking down on a mine for all the "Drive By" mine explorers.
Are we there yet?
Back To California Desert Page Next Page, 2 of 12